Kansas DUI Laws 

 


According to Kansas dui laws, it is against the law to operate or attempt to drive a motor vehicle while under the influence of alcohol or any other drug. Like Kentucky dwi laws, you will have to face big penalties and punishment if you try to violate dui laws in the state of Kansas. Therefore, it is better to drive without consuming alcohol or under the legal alcohol limit, 0.08, specified by the law.

Every Kansas dui arrests give rise to two different types of cases:

  1. Municipal or court case where the criminal proceeding is carried out and the arrestee is charged with penalties like fines and jail time.
  2. Administrative case in Kansas department where the civil proceeding is carried out which results in suspension of driving license.

Both these cases should be taken seriously and any refusal on the part of the arrestee can impose extra penalty on him/her.

The following criminal offenses upon conviction for Kansas dui are imposed:

First DUI offense: The arrestee is punishable by up to 6 months of jail sentence and a fine of $500 to $1,000 with driving license suspended for 30 days.

Second DUI offense: The arrestee is punishable by 90 days to 1 year of jail sentence and a fine of $1,000 to $1,500 with driving license suspended for 1 year.

Third DUI offense: The arrestee is punishable by 90 days to 1 year of jail sentence and a fine of $1,500 to $2,500 with driving license suspended for 1 year.

Fourth DUI offense: The arrestee is punishable by 90 days to 1 year of jail sentence and a fine above $2,500 with driving license suspended for life.

Driving license is utmost important if you want to enjoy your driving privileges. Thus, to save your license after a Kansas dui arrest, it is vital to act quickly and contact a skilful Kansas defense dui attorney. An experienced Kansas dui defense lawyer can help you to keep away problems like suspension or cancellation of driving license.

Kansas dui laws allow the dui arrestee to have some rights and privileges. The major right is at administrative hearing where the arrestee and his/her lawyer can claim the ground on which the arrestee’s driving license is suspended. If the arrestee wins the case, his/her driving license cannot be administratively suspended.

There are some good lawyers whom you can contact if you are facing Kansas dui problem. They are:

Norton Hare, L.L.C. – The licensed and professional lawyers of this firm are well known for their highest level of skills and services. They have good knowledge of handling dui cases and protecting the rights of their clients. Some of the good lawyers in this firm are Jay Norton, Ryan Hare, and Lindsay Hare.

Law office of Leininger- Lawyer Brian Leininger of this firm is effectively dealing with dui cases since 1991.

Russell Powell- This experienced and knowledgeable attorney has resources to make difference in the final result of your dui case. He uses lawful tactics to defend his clients.

The Law Offices of Mark Hagen

The arrestee has to spend following expenses to get the plea of guilty for first Kansas dui:

Fine- $500.00 to $1,000.00

Court cost- $10.00 and $100.00

License reinstatement fee- $400.00

Kentucky attorneys have good knowledge of Kentucky dwi laws, similarly Kansas attorneys have enough understanding of the laws pertaining to dui in Kansas.

 


Bookmark and Share