Maine DWI Laws

 


Maine dwi laws, like Maryland dui laws, states that operating any automobile under the influence of alcoholic drinks or any other drugs is a serious act. In Maine, the guilty is charged heavy penalties and punishments. It is therefore advisable to the drivers to avoid driving if they go beyond the legal alcohol consumption level of 0.08.


A DWI arrest in Maine will activate two cases:

  1. There is a court case where the accused is charged many punishments like jail time, fines, mandatory education programs, suspension of licenses and much more.
  2. Another case is at the Bureau of Motor Vehicle (BMV) which quest to suspend the driving license of the people arrested for Maine DWI.

Serious charge will be imposed on the person who refuses to go for chemical test after he/she is been arrested for driving while intoxicated.


The following criminal offenses are imposed upon conviction for Maine DWI:


Fourth offense drunk driving conviction- It carries 6 months of jail sentence with a fine of $2,100 to $2,500.


Third offense drunk driving conviction- It carries 30-40 days of jail sentence with a fine of $1,100 to $1,400.


Second offense drunk driving conviction- It carries 7-12 days of jail sentence with a fine of $700 to $900.


First offense drunk driving conviction- It carries 48 to 96 hours of jail sentence with a fine of $600.


DWI charges in Maine are serious and needs serious assistance. Fast action and expert advice is beneficial when it comes to saving your driving license. Maine defense attorney for DWI strives hard to protect the rights and driving privileges of the arrestee.
The arrestee, by law, has the right to speak to his/her lawyer before going for breath or blood test. In the absence of lawyers, the arrestee can request for one at the police department.
You can find many skilled lawyers anywhere in the Maine who would effectively fight against your DWI charges.

The following are some of them:
Law offices of Wayne R. Foote- The attorneys of these offices have successfully represented number of people charged with Maine DWI. Wayne R. Foote is known as t5he best defense lawyer in the state of Maine.
Nichols and Nichols & Webb- the firm has extensive experience in defending DWI cases.
Hinkle, Jachimowicz, Pointer & Emanuel- These lawyers have dedicated more than 20 years to DWI cases in Maine. They completely understand the technicality of Maine DWI laws and are aware of the ways in which they can best help their clients.

Scott D. Gardner

Under no aggravating circumstances for first Maine DWI, the following charges are imposed to get a plea of guilty:
Fines: $500 to $2,000
License reinstatement fee: $30.
Maine DWI laws are as strict as Maryland dui laws. Therefore, contacting Maine DWI attorneys following DWI arrest is utmost important as they ensure that the rights of the arrestee are protected.

 


Bookmark and Share