Massachusetts DWI Laws

 


In the state of Massachusetts, Massachusetts DWI laws are applicable to people operating their vehicles under the influence or alcohol or other hazardous substances. These laws are comparable with Michigan DUI laws. The conviction for Massachusetts DWI will have enduring consequences that would affect the personal freedom of the accused. The legal limit of consuming alcohol, according to Massachusetts DWI laws, is 0.08.


Two cases activated by every Massachusetts dwi are as follows:

First, the court case which is carried out in Massachusetts Judicial System where the guilty is subject to many penalties.
Second, Massachusetts Department’s Public Safety case where decision regarding the arrestees’ driving rights is taken.
According to the laws, the accused person should undergo chemical test, which checks his/her blood alcohol content (BAC), soon after he/she is been arrested.


In Massachusetts, the following offenses are imposed on the people arrested for Massachusetts DWI:


First offense- The accused faces up to 2 ½ years of jail and fine of $500-$5,000 with license suspended for 1 year.


Second offense- The accused faces 60 days to 2 ½ years of jail and fine of $600-$10,000 with license suspended for 2 year.


Third offense- The accused faces 180 days to 5 years of jail and fine of $1,000-$15,000 with license suspended for 8 year.


Fourth offense- The accused faces 2 to 5 years of jail and fine of $1,500-$25,000 with license suspended for 10 year.


Fifth offense- The accused faces 2 ½ to 5 years of jail and fine of $2,000-$50,000 with license suspended for life time.


If you speedily contact a DWI defense lawyer when you are arrested for driving under the influence of alcohol in Massachusetts, there is still scope for you to save your driving license.


You can call some of the following good lawyers for Massachusetts DWI:

Law office of James P. Geraghty- The attorneys of the firm have good experience in the field and have won many DUI cases in Massachusetts. Thus the accused approaching these lawyers are assured no negative consequences.
Russell Matson is a DUI defense lawyer who protects the rights of the people subjected to DUI cases.
Jack Diamond- This lawyer has over 14 years of experience in the Massachusetts DWI and has good knowledge about the laws pertaining to it.
George E. Lane
Jones, Milligan and Geraghty
For first Massachusetts DWI, you will get plea of guilty. However, you will be required to spend some money for that-
$2500 fine
$300.00 as license reinstatement fees
Fee for probation $65 per month

Contacting a Massachusetts DWI lawyer is utmost important to protect your rights and freedom to drive when you are caught for operating automobile while under the influence of alcoholic drinks. Like lawyers in Michigan have good knowledge about Michigan DUI laws, even Massachusetts lawyers are completely aware of Massachusetts DWI laws.

 


Bookmark and Share