Montana DWI laws

 

The DWI laws or DUI laws literally mean "driving while intoxicated" or “driving under influence”. This term is used by DWI lawyers and attorneys in all states of America like Montana DWI laws or Nebraska DUI laws.
If you have been charged with a Montana DWI or Nebraska DUI laws there are two things that you need to consider:

  • Take this charge seriously.
    A conviction for a Montana DWI or Nebraska DUI will have long lasting consequences as a criminal record can affect your job, your future and your personal freedom as well.
  • Hire a qualified and veteran Montana DWI Lawyer or Nebraska DUI lawyer.
    It can be difficult and tricky to understand the Montana DWI laws or Nebraska DUI laws and courtroom proceedings. So, hiring an experienced and qualified Montana DWI Lawyer who focuses on DWI defense can make a huge difference in the outcome of your case.

In the State of Montana the legal alcohol limit while driving is .08 percent or above, blood alcohol concentration (BAC). But this BAC limits is lower for minors and drivers of commercial vehicles. In addition to this Montana also considers a .04 percent a DUI if that fact is considered with other competent evidence.

Montana Drunk Driving Fines & Penalties

1st DUI Offense: You can be charged with a minimum of 1 day up to 6 months in jail. A fine of $300-$1,000 will be charged. But if a passenger under 16 years of age was present in the vehicle at the time of arrest, you have to serve a minimum of 2 days or up to 12 months in jail, and a fine from $600-$2,000. And driving license will be suspended for 6 months.

 2nd DUI Offense: The second time arrest for drunk driving will account for a fine of $600-$1,000. Have to serve a minimum of 7 days up to 6 months in jail. But if a passenger under 16 years of age was present in the vehicle at the time of arrest, you have to serve a minimum of 14 days, or up to 12 months in jail and a fine of $1,200-$2,000. Your driver’s license will be suspended for 1 year and your vehicle may be forfeited.

 3rd DUI Offense: The third time arrest for drunk driving will account for a fine of $1,200-$2,000. Have to serve a minimum of 14 days or up to 12 months in jail. But if a passenger under 16 years of age was present in the vehicle at the time of arrest, you have to serve a minimum of 60 days, or up to 12 months in jail and a fine of $2,000-$10,000. During your probationary period, court may order you to install device for ignition interlock on your vehicle at your own expense. Your driver’s license will be suspended for at least 1 year and your automobile may be forfeited.

The fourth time arrest for drunk drivingin Montana or Nebraska is a felony; the driver could receive up to 5 years in jail and a fine of $10,000.
Your rights when you get a DWI:
You have 30 days after getting a notice for drunken driving to go for a hearing; you may file a petition to challenge the driver’s license suspension or revocation in the court.
Some good lawyers for Montana DWI and DUI laws are:

  • Finn Bradley J Attorney at Law - Billings, Montana
  • Cannon & Sheehy - Missoula, Montana
  • Holton Wendy Attorney - Helena, Montana
  • Hennessey Law Office P.L.L.C. - Butte, Montana
  • Quinn Robert J - Bozeman, Montana
  • Shannon Craig K Attorney - Missoula, Montana

They can help you get the legal representation you need to fight your Montana DWI or Nebraska DUI charges and possibly avoid big fines, penalties, jail term and a criminal record.
The costs of lawyer fees depend on the type of lawyer you’re seeking, their experience, their location and many other factors. The court fees may also vary. Nationally, an estimated total average cost can be between $5,000 and $20,000.

You can easily find a lawyer that fits you and your budget.


 


Bookmark and Share