Nebraska DUI laws

 

According to Nebraska DUI laws, it is illegal to drive a vehicle if your BAC (blood alcohol concentration) is .08% or above. These limits are lower for drivers under the age of 21 and for drivers of any type of commercial vehicles. If the BAC level is .15 or above then the penalties are harsher and fines are sometimes double. In addition to alcohol, Nebraska and Nevada DWI laws also prohibits the operation of a vehicle while under the influence of controlled substances (like marijuana or cocaine).
Nebraska DUI laws are not very generous and an arrest under DUI laws can result in a jail term, fines of hundreds of dollars and even a loss of your driver's license.

Nebraska Drunk Driving Fines & Penalties

First DUI conviction

  • Up to $500 fine
  • 7 days up to 60 days in jail
  • 6 month drivers license suspension

Aggravated DUI conviction if BAC is .15 or more

  • 2 days in jail
  • $500 fine
  • 1-year driver's license suspension

Second DUI conviction 

  • 10-30 days in jail
  • $500 fine
  • 1-year license suspension

Third DUI conviction 

  • Minimum 30 day up to 1 year jail sentence
  • $600 fine
  • 2 years up to 15 years license suspension
  • Installation of ignition interlock device at your expense

Fourth DUI conviction

  • This time you will be charged with a Felony and court will order you to serve a mandatory minimum of 1 year, up to 15 years of jail sentence
  • $1,000-$25,000 fine
  • 15-year license suspension
  • Installation of ignition interlock device at vehicle owner’s expense

In case of a breath test refusal the penalties could be 1-year driver's license suspension and Installation of ignition interlock device at your expense.
So, the total cost involved if you are arrested under DUI laws will be as per your 1st or 4th conviction, plus the cost of attorney and you may also have to pay for an alcohol assessment if ordered by the judge to attend an alcohol treatment program which can cost you over $3,000.
But you have many options and you have ample rights to help you. So, first of all understand the Nebraska DUI laws and courtroom proceedings, which can be a challenge for you so a Nebraska or Nevada DUI lawyer can guide you through the complete process and help you avoid costly mistakes. Here are few Nebraska DUI law attorneys who can be of great help:

  • Berry, Kelley & Wythers, John Steven Berry, Lincoln, NE
  • McGoughlaw Professional Corporation Llo, Omaha, NE
  • Paragas Law Offices, Omaha, NE
  • Reisinger Law Office, Omaha, NE
  • Anderson Vipperman Kovanda Wetzel, Grand Island, NE
  • Huston & Higgins Attorneys, Grand Island, NE

Since DUI laws are very complex so you not only need to hire a Nebraska or Nevada lawyer, but only the one who specifically specializes in Nebraska DUI defense.


 


Bookmark and Share