Texas DWI Laws

 

Drunk driving is a brutal crime in Texas. In Texas, drunken driving crimes occur more often than any other crime. Someone is killed in an alcohol-related traffic crash after every 5 hours in Texas. Texas DWI and Utah DUI laws are very strict.


Texas is one of the national leaders in alcohol related traffic deaths. In 2004 in Texas, 1,642 people were killed in alcohol-related crashes. Texas is second to California in such cases. Everyday nearly 70 Texans are injured or killed in alcohol-related crashes.


In 2004 near about 98,349 were arrested for drink driving in Texas in 2004, among them 303 was young people between the age of 9 and 16.An additional 9,285 minors between ages 17 and 20 were arrested for DWI. That means more than 11 percent of all the people arrested for drinking and driving were below 21.The legal age for alcohol in Texas is 21.


Possible Texas DWI Punishments:


Juvenile Drinking:
If you are below 21 and you are found first time in possession of alcohol then the court will activate the following penalties.


•           Suspension of driver license for 30-day.
•           Fine up to $500.
•           8 to 12 hours of community service.
•           Obligatory presence in alcohol-awareness classes


A second or subsequent offense can turn into suspension of driving license from 90 to 180 days.
If you are 17 or older and it is your third offence then there is a fine of $2,000 and Jail for up to 3 months.
If you are under 21, the following things likely to happens the first time you are stopped for drinking and driving:


•           Suspension of driver license for 60-day.
•           Fine up to a $500.
•           20 to 40 hours of community service.
•           Obligatory presence in alcohol-awareness classes.


If you are below 21 and get caught for drinking and driving a second or third time, the penalties will increase, including suspension of your driving license for up to 180 days. That is called zero tolerance or “zero” alcohol. And that’s the law in Texas.
If you are 17 and over, the following things likely to happens, if you stopped for drinking and driving with a BAC of .08 or greater.
Some people, mostly teenagers, can reach a .08 BAC with two or three beers an hour.


•           Up to a $2,000 fine.
•           Jail from 72 hours to 180 days.
•           Suspension of driver license from 90-day to 1 day.


First Offense:
•           Up to a $2,000 fine.
•           Jail from 72 hours to 180 days.
•           Suspension of driver license from 90 days to 1 year.


Second Offense:
•           Up to a $4,000 fine.
•           Jail from 30 days to 1 year. 
•           Suspension of driver license from 180 days to 2 years.


Third Offense:
•           Up to a $10,000 fine.
•           Jail from 2 to 10 years.
•           Suspension of driver license from 180 days to 2 years

There is no increased punishment after DWI third offence in Texas law. If a person drunk after third offence, the usual punishment is imprisonment in the jail from 2 to 10 years without probation being granted.


Some skilled lawyers for Texas DWI and Utah DUI laws are:
If you have been arrested or accused of a crime, you may not understand your legal rights, then to better understand your rights contact any of the following lawyers:

  1. Ken Gibson
  2. Kerrisa Chelkowski
  3. Hank Judin
  4. Anthony B Cantrell
  5. Kimberly Griffin Tucker


Bookmark and Share