Utah DUI Laws

 

It is illegal in Utah to drive a vehicle if you have a BAC of .08 or more or are under the influence of alcohol or drugs to an extent that turn you into incapable of safely operating the vehicle. Utah DUI laws and Vermont DWI laws are extremely strict and hence should be avoided to get into any drunken driving case.
In Utah, if you are arrested for a DUI you will have to fight for your driving license in 2 different places; the Utah court and the Utah Drivers License Division. If you will not able to win both of these forms, you will lose your driving license. Always remember that you have only ten days to request for the hearing with the Drivers License Division for your Utah DUI.


The standard limit for impaired driver is .08 percent in states of Utah. The lower BAC limits for commercial drivers is .04 and a Zero tolerance law for drivers below the age of 21. The Utah DUI law also prohibits driving under the influence of other intoxicants like marijuana, cocaine and inhalants.
Utah has lowest percentage of DUI fatalities in caparison to other states of U.S.A. According to a study in 2008 November, Utah shows lower percentage of fatalities from drunk driving. The most recent statistics show the United States average DUI cases is 41%, Utah DUI hold for 22% of road fatalities.
If you refuse to take the blood alcohol content test, you will lose your license for 90 days.


Punishments for a Utah DUI Offense:
A Utah DUI holds strict penalties. Your current penalties are affected by your previous DUI arrests you have. The Utah look back period is 10 years. The punishments you could face for the different Utah DUI offenses are:


 Utah First DUI Offense
•           2 days of jail time, community service.
•           Fine of minimum $700 and maximum $1,500.
•           Ignition interlock device is possible.
•           Suspension of driving license for 90 days to 2 years.
•           DUI Driving School:  Alcohol assessment /evaluation and treatment

Utah Second DUI Offense
•           Jail time up to 240 hours, community service.
•           Fine of minimum $800.
•           Alcohol assessment/treatment and education.
•           Ignition interlocks system for minimum 3 years.
•           Drivers license suspension for 90 days up to 2 years.

Utah Third DUI Offense
•           Jail time up to 5 years.
•           Possible house arrest.
•           Fine of minimum $1500.
•           Intensive alcohol assessment and treatment.
•           Ignition interlocks system for 3 years.
•           Suspension of driving license from 90 days to 3 years.


Some major DWI lawyers of Utah:
It is important that you consult to a Utah DUI defense lawyer instantly if you have been arrested for drunk driving in Utah. Utah DUI laws are risky than the other country.

  1. David Rosenbloom, P.C.
  2. Kristopher K. Greenwood, LC.
  3. David Paul White.
  4. David Rosenbloom.
  5. Kristopher K. Greenwood, LC, in Ogden.
  6. Gregory W. Stevens.

The best thing is not to drink and drive in Utah and Vermont and should stay away from Utah and Vermont DWI laws. The State of Utah has strict laws for drunk driving, and when you drink and drive in Utah, you risk your freedom, finances and your future.


Bookmark and Share