Vermont DWI Laws

 

Anybody can make mistake at any point of life. And one of the common mistakes could be if you are charged with a violation of Vermont DWI laws or Virginia DUI laws. A DWI is a legal term for a specific offense that of driving while intoxicated. It is illegal in Vermont to drive with a BAC of .08 or above. A DUI/DWI doesn’t relate to the consumption of alcohol only but it can also be for drugs, both legal and illegal. In such cases you may need the assistance of an experienced DWI or DUI lawyer.

It is very unfortunate for you if you have been caught under Vermont DWI Laws, as DWI carries some very heavy punishments with it.
The punishments and costs incurred in such cases could be:

1st Conviction:
Court Fines- $750
Potential Jail Time- Up to 2 Years
License Suspension- Min. 90 Days

2nd Conviction:
Court Fines- $1,500
Potential Jail Time- Up to 2 Years
License Suspension- 18 Months

3rd Conviction:
Court Fines- $2,500
Potential Jail Time- Up to 5 Years
License Suspension- Possibly Permanent

Additional Costs

- Surcharge of $60 to be paid to the Department of Health.
- Surcharge of $50 paid to the Officer of Defender General
- Surcharge of $50 paid to the DUI enforcement fund.

Conviction for drivers under the age of 21 with a BAC of over 0.02 %

If you're a first-time offender, your license will be suspended for six months and you will be required to complete a drug and alcohol education program. Get nabbed a second time and your license will be suspended for one year or until you turn 21 (whichever is longer), and you must again enroll in a drug and alcohol education program.

If you have been charged with DWI in Vermont, please consult a Vermont DWI/DUI lawyer or attorney who concentrates on DWI defense is an essential first step.

Here are few of the DWI/DUI Lawyers in Vermont:

Myerson Law Offices, Bradley D. Myerson Attorney at Law. Manchester Center, Vermont.

Nicholas Michael, Bomoseen, VT

Robert Kaplan, Burlington, VT

According to State highway safety officials the number of DWI cases in Vermont is declining since 2003. The number of traffic fatalities in 2003 year was down roughly 10% from 2002. Total motor vehicle fatalities in Vermont in the year 1995 were 106 and of those involving high BAC were 33. Total motor vehicle fatalities in Vermont in the year 2000 were 79 and of those involving high BAC were 27.

While no one should drive under the influence, if you have been charged, learning more about the DWI laws in your state is a critical step as you work to take responsibility and move forward after this incidence.


Bookmark and Share