Virginia DUI laws

 

Virginia is well-known for its ruthless judgments in DUI cases. Virginia DUI law and Washington DWI laws states that DUI/DWI is class 1 crime. Virginia DUI law has 2 separate offenses. When somebody in Virginia is arrested for driving vehicle under the influence of alcohol or drugs, they are charged with 2 different offenses. These 2 separate records whatever comprises is usually referred to as a Virginia DUI.
The allowable limit of BAC in Virginia is .08 % which means that it is banned to drive with a BAC of .08% or more. The legal limit for drivers under the age of 21 is .02.
In Virginia, you can get a Virginia DUI even if you are not above the legal BAC limit. If the officer decides that alcohol you have consumed was adequate to harm your ability to safely drive a vehicle, he can quote you for DUI, whatever your BAC was.
Out Of 921 Virginia traffic fatalities, about 279 deaths involved a driver who was over the legal limit of .08 and 164 deaths involved a driver who was at or over twice the legal limit.
For DUI you will be facing a worse punishment for following reasons:

  • A past offense happens within 5 to 10 years of the current offense.
  • A child was in the car.
  • Your BAC was above .15% or .20%.
  • You refused for a chemical test.
  • Somebody was wounded.
  • You were under 21 years of age.

Possible Virginia DUI Punishments:
Below age 21and BAC between .02 and .08:
• Cancellation of license for 6 months, fine up to $500, enrollment in the Alcohol        Safety Action Program

Virginia DUI First Offense:
Virginia 1st DUI is a class 1 crime.

  • Maximum fine is $2500
  • Maximum jail period is 1 year
  • Drivers license suspension for 1 year (restricted driving privileges can be allowed by judge)
  • Alcohol education program (Virginia Alcohol Safety Action Program, or VASAP)

If someone BAC is less than .15% then there is no jail time.
If it is .15% or more, there is a compulsory 5 day jail.
If it is .21% or more, there is 10 compulsory 10 day jail.

VA DUI Second Offense:

  • Suspension of driver license for 3 years (restricted driving privileges obtainable after 4 months of suspension if 2nd crime was within 10 years of 1st crime or after 1 year if 2nd crime was within 5 years of 1st crime)
  • 10-20 day jail time (depends on when was the last offense)
  • Alcohol education program (VASAP)

VA DUI Third Offense:
•           Jail period from 3 months to 5 years
•           Alcohol education program (VASAP)

Some good lawyers in Virginia for DUI are:

  • Thomas S. Rock: Located in Historic Leesburg, Virginia aggressively defends those charged with DUI throughout the state of Virginia.
  • James P Cargill, P C: Roanoke Virginia A DUI Lawyer
  • T. Kevin Wilson: Virginia DUI drunk driving lawyer
  • Michael tillotson: DUI lawyer of Virginia.

Since the Virginia DUI consequences are so strict, it is better not to drink and drive in Virginia and it is also extremely important for you to learn everything you can about Virginia DUI law and Washington DWI laws.


Bookmark and Share