Washington DWI laws

 

Washington DUI / DWI law is just like the DUI/DWI law in all other states. It is illegal in the Washington to drive with a BAC of .08 or above. Some DUI charges can result in jail time after a first offense, and some charges can result in a felony conviction. DUI law in Washington and West Virginia is same.

DWI laws in the Washington are arranged under three different categories:

•           Under a DUI, police do not perform a breathalyzer test to accuse you but the officer can accused you on the basis of normal field sobriety tests.

•           Under a DWI, police used to take a breathalyzer test to accuse you and the results show a BAC above a .08.

•           Under an OWI, a breathalyzer test that results in a BAC level fairly less than .08 is enough to consider the driver intoxicated and result in an OWI charge.

A DUI and a DWI can result in jail up to 3 months and fines up to $10,000. An OWI hold a jail period of 1 month. Some offenses hold compulsory jail time, such as when your BAC is .20 or you have had multiple offenses.

The standard limit for the unpaired driver is .08 percent in all states of Washington. Washington has a Zero Tolerance for drivers below the age of 21, means you are not allowed to have any considerable alcohol in your system.

In 2008, more than 44,000 DUI/DWI charges were filed in Washington alone.

All 50 states and the District of Columbia have per se laws defining it as a crime to drive with a BAC at or above a prohibited level, 0.08 percent.
Washington DUI / DWI law activates two actions against you. First is criminal court case, where DUI punishment comprises jail, fines, instructive programs, suspension of driver license etc.
Second case in Washington DUI / DWI law is an administrative case, in which your drunken driving rights are at risk. The second case is separate and entirely different from criminal court action. Under administrative license suspension, licenses are revoked if a driver refuses for a chemical test. It needs you to respond rapidly to protect your license followed by an arrest for Washington DUI / DWI.

Fines & Penalties in Washington:

1st DUI Offense

  • Fines between $300 and $1,000.
  • Jai up to 90 days.
  • 6 Month license revocation.

 

2nd DUI Offense

  • Fine between $1,000 and $5,000.
  • Up to 1 year in jail.
  • Drivers license suspension for 1 year

3rd DUI Offense

  • Fine between $2,000 and $10,000.
  • Up to1 year in Jail
  • Drivers license suspension for 2 year.

Washington skilled DWI lawyers:

    • John Spaulding
    • Thomas A. Key
    • Frederick J. Brynn
    • Kevin Mosley
    • Leslie McAdoo
    • Michael P. Brodsky
    • Terry L. Smith
    • Cowan Smith Kirk
    • Jonathon F Marshall

The best thing is not to drink and drive in Washington. The Washington has strict laws for drunk driving, and when you drink and drive in Washington, you risk your freedom, finances and your future.


Bookmark and Share