West Virginia DUI laws

 

West Virginia DUI law and Wisconsin DWI laws are just like the DUI/DWI law in all other states. A West Virginia DUI law activates two actions against you. First is criminal court case, where DUI punishment comprises jail, fines, instructive programs, suspension of driver license etc.


Second case in West Virginia DUI law is an administrative case, in which your drunken driving rights are at risk. The second case is separate and entirely different from criminal court action. It needs you to respond rapidly to protect your license followed by an arrest for West Virginia DUI.


It is important that you consult to a West Virginia DWI defense lawyer instantly if you have been arrested for drunk driving in West Virginia. West Virginia DUI laws are dangerous than the other country.
West Virginia DUI cases are prosecuted on the basis of "common-law" theory or "per se" theory. According to "common-law", an arresting officer shows an impairment of the driver as the result of consuming alcohol or drugs. In the per se theory predictions are done on the basis of chemical test results .The investigation is to check whether the accused drunk driver was above the legal limit (.08%) at the time of driving.
It is banned in the State of West Virginia to drive with a BAC of .08 or above. The standard BAC limit is .08 percent for the "impaired" driver in West Virginia. The lower BAC limits for commercial drivers is .04 and BAC limit for drivers below 21 is .02.


Possible West Virginia DUI Punishments
In West Virginia if there is a repeat DUI / DWI conviction within 10 years of the previous case, the current case will be treated as a second-crime of DUI / DWI. This will radically increase the punishments for conviction of a DUI / DWI.
First Offense DUI in West Virginia:
•           Jail time from 1 day to 6 months.
•           Fines between $100 and $500.
•           Drivers license suspension for 6 months.
•           Possible alcohol evaluation, education and treatment.
Second Offense DUI in West Virginia:
•           Jail time between 6 months and 1 year.
•           Fines between $1000 and $3000.
•           Drivers license suspension for 1 year.
•           Possible alcohol evaluation, education and treatment.
•           Ignition interlock system required.
Third Offense DUI in West Virginia:
•           Jail time between 1 year and 3 years.
•           Fines between $3000 and $5000.
•           Drivers license suspension for 1 year.
•           Alcohol evaluation, education and treatment.
•           Ignition interlock system required.
West Virginia skilled DWI lawyers:

  1. Morgan B. Hayes.
  2. Claude S. Smith, III.

It is better not to drink and drive in West Virginia as it has strict laws for drunk driving. If you drink and drive in West Virginia, you risk your freedom, finances and also your future. A DWI law in West Virginia and Wisconsin are very serious charge so you should seek legal help immediately.


Bookmark and Share