Wisconsin DWI Laws

 

Drunken driving accused cases in Wisconsin fall under Wisconsin DWI Laws (driving while intoxicated) and Wyoming DWI laws also imply the same. A DWI charge claims that the driver of a vehicle was drunk while driving.
Wisconsin is among the highest nation of drunken driving rate. According to a study nearly 340 people killed and more than 5,500 injured in alcohol-related crashes in Wisconsin. In Wisconsin about 46 percent of serious traffic crashes are due to alcohol.
Drinking is costly and uncomfortable in Wisconsin:

  • Driving with alcohol will give you disappointment throughout your life.
  • If arrested, you can lose your license and have to pay a massive fine.
  • Repeat drunken driving means custody.
  • If you hurt or kill someone in a crash you have to face serious charges, like careless murder.
  • If you refuse a blood/breath alcohol concentration (BAC) test then you will lose your license spot for at least one year and your car may be take away.
  • If you drive drunken with a child below age 16, the penalties will double.
  • If you have two previous drunken driving with having a BAC over 0.17, the penalties will multiplied.

Wisconsin Fines and Penalties:


First crime DWI / DUI is a penalty abuse with a fine of $150 to $300, plus an OWI extra of $355, and license revocation from 6 to 9 months.


Second crime DWI / DUI has a fine of $350 to $1,100 plus the $355 extra, jail up to 6 months, and license revocation from 12 to 18 months.


Third crime DWI / DUI has a fine of $600 to $2000, plus the $355 extra, jail from up to 1 year, and license revocation from 2 to 3 years.
Fines for third and subsequent DWI / DUI crime are increased according to the prohibited alcohol concentration as follows:
.17 - .199 = double fine ($1,200 - $4,000)
.20 - .249 = triple fine ($1,800 - $6,000)
.25 And above = quadruple fine ($2,400 - $8,000)


Fourth crime DWI / DUI has a fine of $600 to $2,000, plus the $355 extra, jail up to1 year, and license revocation from 2-3 years.


Fifth and subsequent DWI / DUI are criminal act crimes. There is a compulsory fine of $600 but not more than $2,000, plus the $355 extra, custody of not less than 6 months and more than 5 years, and a license revocation of 2 to 3 year.
If a person convicted of DWI / DUI is below the age of16 then fines, jail time and revocation periods are all doubled.


Some good DWI Lawyers in Wisconsin are:

  • Attorney Tracey A. Wood is a lawyer who takes all the cases related to drunk driving.
  • Michele is a graduate of UW-Green Bay and Marquette Law School.  She has been practicing drunken driving defense since July of 1996.  She has worked for two of the state’s top drunk driving defense firms since starting her own practice.

A DWI law in Wisconsin is a serious charge so you should seek legal help immediately.


Bookmark and Share