Wyoming DWI Laws

 

Drunken driving accused cases in Wyoming fall under Wyoming DWI Laws (driving while intoxicated). A DWI charge claims that the driver of a vehicle was drunk while driving.
The .08 percent is the standard limit used throughout the Wyoming for the drivers. In Wyoming the drivers under the age of 21 has .02 BAC limit and drivers of commercial vehicles has .04 BAC limit.
Drunk driving in Wyoming is the most frequently encountered crime in the courts today. In 2002, almost 17,500 people were killed in vehicle crash related to alcohol. This indicates 41 percent out of the 42,815 people killed in all traffic misshaping that year.
Wyoming DUIlaw states that it is illegal for a person to drive any vehicle within the state of Wyoming if the person has a BAC of 0.08% or more and is incapable of driving safely. In Wyoming DUI, if you are again convicted within a five year period, then you will be treated as a second offense with cruel penalties, fines, jail time etc.


The best thing is not to drink and drive because Wyoming has firm laws for drunk driving.
Drunken Driving Punishments
The punishment in drunken driving cases is set by state law and can be unbelievably difficult. The basic law decides the range of punishments, when the person is:

  • Having a previous conviction within seven years
  • Speeding 20 mph over the limit
  • Having a child below 14 in the car
  • Having a BAC more than .20%
  • Refuse for chemical testing

Penalties

  • The first offense has fine up to $750 and jail up to 6 months. There is no compulsory minimum fine or jail time.
  • The second conviction in a five year period is punishable by a fine of up to $750 and up to 6 months in jail. The compulsory minimum jail period is 7 days and fine of $200.
  • The third conviction in a five year period is punishable by up to 6 months in jail and a fine of up to $3,000. The compulsory minimum jail period is 30 days and a fine of $750 and up to 15 days may be suspended if the offender completes an inpatient treatment program approved by the court.
  • The fourth and subsequent conviction in a five year span will result in a fine of up to $10,000 and/or a jail term of up to two years.
  •  If during drunk driving you meet with an accident that results in death of another or serious permanent deformity then the penalties will increase. First offenders will be fined $2,000 - $5,000 and jail for 6 months to a year. Those who are having some previous crimes will be behind bars for up to twenty years.
  • If you are below 21 with BAC of .02 or more, you may be fined up to $750 and your license will be suspended at least for 3 months.

Some Famous DUI Lawyers in Wyoming:

    • Timothy Newcomb: Criminal Law, DUI / DWI
    • Mary Elizabeth Galvan: Civil Rights, Criminal Law, DUI / DWI
    • Richard Bohling: Criminal Law, DUI / DWI
    • Megan Overmann Goetz: Criminal Law, DUI / DWI, Employment Law, Workers' Compensation
    • Joe Hageman: Criminal Law, DUI / DWI, Divorce, Family Law
    • Julie Nye Tiedeken: Business Law, Car Accidents, Criminal Law, DUI / DWI
    • Ronald Pretty: Car Accidents, Criminal Law, DUI / DWI, Injury Law
Timothy Charles Kingston: Bankruptcy / Debt, Car Accidents, Civil Rights, Criminal Law, DUI / DWI


Bookmark and Share